Forum Kurallarını Okumak İçin Lütfen Tıklayınız .

Recently searched:

Questions About Data Hashing, And Leaks Questions 

Questions Questions About Data Hashing, And Leaks
Reaction score
#CR
Hello, I am very new to this website, data leaks, hashing and code in general. Here are some questions I have. I'm new to coding and trying to get a better understanding of hashes and how they relate to things like data security. I've come across terms like hash functions, data hashes, and even cryptographic hashing, but I’m still a bit unclear on the details.

Could someone help explain the following:

1. What exactly is a hash and how does it work in programming?
  2. What are the common types of hash functions (e.g., MD5, SHA-256, etc.) and how are they different?
  3. What’s the difference between hashing and encryption?
  4. Why are some hash functions considered insecure (e.g., MD5) while others are used for secure applications (e.g., SHA-256)?
  5. How are hashes used in technologies like blockchain or digital signatures?
  6. Could you share any simple coding examples to demonstrate how to generate or use hashes?
Additionally, I’ve been reading about data leaks and would like to know:

1. How do hashes help in protecting sensitive data from being exposed in data leaks?
  2. What are common causes of data leaks and how do hash-related vulnerabilities contribute to them?
  3. How can I check if hashed data (like passwords) is at risk of being cracked?
I would appreciate any help, advice, or resources to better understand these concepts. Thanks in advance for your time!

-Skip

Hello, I will try to explain all common info about hashes simply...
In general, hash is a fixed-size output generated from input data of arbitrary size. The result of applying a hash function is called a hash value or digest. The idea is that any input, no matter its size, can be mapped to a unique, shorter string of fixed length.
The same input will always result in the same hash.